The Nuclear Safety Standards Commission (Kerntechnischer Ausschuss - KTA)

The Nuclear Safety Standards Commission (KTA) has the task, to issue nuclear safety standards for these topics in the area of nuclear technology where a consensus between experts of the manufacturers and the operators of nuclear power plants, of authorized experts and state officials is apparent and to support their application.

The Nuclear Safety Standards Commission (KTA) was founded 1972 by the Bundesministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft (BMBW; now responsible:  Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, nukleare Sicherheit und Verbraucherschutz - BMUV) following the example of the well-established "Deutsche Dampfkessel-Ausschuss (DDA)".

According to § 4 of the "Bekanntmachung über die Bildung eines Kerntechnischen Ausschusses" the KTA is governed by an Executive Committee ("KTA-Präsidium") consisting of four members.

The affairs of the Nuclear Safety Standards Commission (KTA) are managed by the KTA-office (KTA-GS), which is lead by a Managing Director. The Managing Director reports to the Steering Committee (Präsidium).   The KTA-office is bureaucratically attached to the Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management (Bundesamt für die Sicherheit der nuklearen Entsorgung - BASE).

Presently, the KTA Program of Standards is comprised of 97 different standards. 88 of these nuclear safety standards are issued and valid, 9 standards are no longer part of the revision process. 32 standards were revised last year, 1 of the standards is currently still in a revision process.

You will find in this website information about

Most of the informations mentioned above are prepared for download in the form of PDF-files.

Detailed information about the KTA-Safety Standards is listed in "KTA Standards", the standards are available in PDF-Format (German and English) free of charge.

For further questions please feel free to contact the KTA office by phone or email!